12 Days of Christmas: Day 3

Since its release, Home Alone has become the highest-grossing live action comedy film of all time in the US. This is not surprising, since it’s one of the most talked about Christmas films I’ve come across out of my 12 reviews, however it’s also one I’ll admit I hadn’t actually watched until this year. If, like me, you also haven’t seen this festive feature, it’s essentially about an 8-year old troublemaker (Kevin McCallister) who must protect his home from a pair of burglars, after he is accidentally left home alone by his family who have gone on holiday over Christmas.

After watching it for the first time though I did find it to be very entertaining, although in my opinion it’s young Macaulay Culkin’s performance as Kevin McCallister that carries the film. His simple, yet clever trickery outsmarts all the adults he comes across – from the pizza guy, to the burglars trying to invade his house, to the police!

The whole feature leads up to this hilarious battle between Kevin and the burglars in order to defend his home; and the booby traps Kevin sets for them are just comedy gold – great entertainment for all the family.

Although the plot isn’t hugely believable, (I’m sure the authorities would have been involved?!) it’s a great choice if you want some escapism from the real world for a few hours on a cosy December evening. I wouldn’t say this film is one of my favourite Christmas films, however it’s still a festive classic during this Christmas season.

My Christmas rating; 6/10

Ramble Over.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jadeyrae says:

    One of my all time favourites!

    Like

Leave a Reply

