12 Days of Christmas: Day 9

Today’s festive feature is one that I’m sure is very popular with most readers. Disney’s The Muppet Christmas Carol is a classic for families at christmas; an adaptation of Charles Dickens’s 1843 novel ‘A Christmas Carol’, with Michael Caine starring as the famous Ebenezer Scrooge.

Essentially the narrative is the same as the original Dicken’s novel, however the characters are all played by the Muppets. There is commentary throughout the feature by ‘Rizzo the Rat’, other muppet stars include; Kermit the Frog who plays ‘Bob Cratchit’, Miss Piggy as ‘Emily Cratchit, Waldorf as ‘Robert Marley’, Statler as ‘Jacob Marley’ and Robin the Frog as ‘Tiny Tim Cratchit’, along with many others.

Despite it’s popularity through the years, I had yet to see this feature and after watching it I’m sorry to admit to you that I’m not a big fan. Maybe it’s because of the amount of Christmas Carol re-makes I’ve seen over the years, and therefore I’m a little tired of the narrative. Or more likely, perhaps it’s the cheese factor that the Muppets naturally seem to bring to any feature they appear in.

Either way I just couldn’t get into this particular feature, which surprised me because I’ve never been one to dislike a Christmas film. Nevertheless, I’m not a complete cold-heart; I did enjoy the finale song “It Feels Like Christmas”,  as it captured the festive spirit that Christmas day brings – which even Mr. Scrooge can’t resist in the end.

My Christmas Rating; 5/10

Ramble over.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Ooh I haven’t actually seen that movie in so long! I don’t remember it even which means it didn’t leave much of an impact on me 😂 good review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

