12 Days of Christmas: Day 11

Today’s festive feature is the american romantic comedy, The Holiday. The story was filmed in both California and England, starring Cameron Diaz and Kate Winslet as two lovelorn women who temporarily exchange homes, in order to escape their heartbreaks during the holiday season. Jude Law and Jack Black therefore star as the love interests of the two women.

Despite the film’s duration and it’s sometimes slow-going plot-line I did enjoy the feature; if you’re looking for a light, entertaining movie I would definitely recommend this film. I particularly enjoyed Kate Winslet as the hopelessly devoted ‘Iris’ – even if she was neurotic and at times, a bit spineless. Although, I do wish that her story had been developed more thoroughly; I felt a bit like her relationship was rushed because the film spent a majority of the time focusing on ‘Amanda’ (Cameron Diaz) and ‘Graham’s (Jude Law), developing relationship.

However, despite the fact that I am not a huge Cameron Diaz fan, I was pleasantly surprised with their part of the story. It did capture my soft-spot for romance and I think Jude Law’s good looks helped along the way too! Jack Black also kept his character to an energetic hum rather than his usual explosion of crazy antics, which I can never truly find that humorous.

Overall, I did enjoy this feature as an easy-watch at Christmas time; the plot can be fairly predictable, but it is a romantic comedy after all!

My Christmas Rating; 6/10

Ramble over.

Leave a Reply

