Christmas Gifts in Review

Once again I was throughly spoiled this Christmas with some wonderful gifts – as quite a lot of them were film or photography related I thought I’d share a few of them with you.

  1. ‘1001 Movies to See Before You Die’ Book

When I picked this present up I didn’t have a clue what it was – it weighed an absolute tonne! The book lists “1001 movie’s” from the 1900’s to 2014 which, in the author’s opinion, everyone should see before they die; each film mentioned has a small synopsis/review and an explanation as to why it is such an important feature film. I particularly like the fact that the book has a checklist in which you can tick off the films as you watch them.

2. Film Listography

I’d seen similar “listographys” listing everything from food to places to travel but never one to do with films. This book could help to expand my knowledge in areas such as sound and lighting which have a little less experience in. Opening this present was a really nice surprise, and I look forward to filling this book with films (past and present), directors, sound artists etc.

3. DVDs

It wouldn’t be christmas if I didn’t get a good handful of dvd’s to watch in the new year. This years additions to my collection include a copy of Jaws (I’ve always wanted my own copy), Spy, Paper Towns, Whiplash – which I’m extremely excited to watch and Still Alice. Keep an eye out for reviews on some of these features.

4. Fish-Eye Lens

This is more Photography-related, however I thought I’d add this one in. I probably haven’t mentioned that I own a Nikon DSLR camera and also have a love of digital photography, I already own a small selection of lenses but I’d yet to purchase a wide-angle lens. This lens also creates a sort-of ‘fish-eye’ effect, often found on digital photobooths; I’m excited to experiment with this new lens and create some cool wide-angle shots.

5. ‘104 Things to Photograph’ Photo Album

I actually asked for this gift, as I wanted to kickstart my photography again; since starting university I haven’t had a lot of time for taking photos and this book gives you simple subject matters to photograph (104 to be exact!), such as “a messy bed” and allows you to get creative with the brief.

I hope you enjoyed reading this blog and all of my posts so far – I wanted to know what you think of me expanding my blog to include some more photographic elements as well as sharing my thoughts on film and television? Share and Comment below – I’d love to know what you think.

Ramble over.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Jadeyrae says:

    What an amazing pile of gifts! I need to get my hands on a copy of that ‘104 things to photograph’, it would go very nicely with my ‘642 things to write about’! I find it fascinating how be both have a ‘no. of things to do’ related to our career aspirations!

    Like

    1. abibalfex says:

      Yeah it’s really cool – I flicked through it in Waterstones once and I was like ‘I need this!’ hehe

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Jadeyrae says:

        It definitely sounds awesome, I could see myself picking one up at the soonest opportunity!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. mynamemolly says:

    I’ve seen that film listography once- is it good? I’m getting into those “creative companion” type of books! & love your DVD collection, I got Spy too and love Still Alice! Xx

    Like

    1. abibalfex says:

      Yeah I’m liking it so far – It’ll be a good resource to look back on once I’ve finished with it too Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. hehresman says:

    Ooh all these look so fun and exciting to use! I can’t wait to read lots more from you! 🙂

    Like

    1. abibalfex says:

      ahh thank you – i’m glad you’re enjoying reading about them 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

