A TV Challenge?

In this post I’d like to talk about a tv series which I’d been “challenged” to watch by my boyfriend and in return I “challenged” him to watch a series that I have recently enjoyed. The series I was challenged to watch was DC’s The Flash, shown in the UK on Sky Atlantic; so far I’m up to the 7th episode of the 1st season of 2 that are currently available. The series is based on the DC Comics’ character ‘The Flash’, a superhero crime-fighter with the power to move at superhuman speeds; the series is a spin-off from the success of other DC Comic tv series ‘Arrow’ – this is great for fans as there are many appearances and references to this well-known character.

After witnessing his mother’s supernatural murder and his father’s  wrongful conviction for the crime as a young child, ‘Barry Allen’ is taken in by ‘Detective Joe West’ and his daughter. Fourteen years after his mother’s death, an advanced particle accelerator malfunctions during its public unveiling bathing the city centre with dangerous radiation during a thunderstorm. Meanwhile Barry is struck by lightning from the storm and awakens after a nine-month coma; he discovers he has the ability to move at superhuman speeds. Dr. Harrison Wells, the disgraced designer of the failed particle accelerator, describes Barry’s special nature as ‘metahuman’; Barry soon discovers that he is not the only one who was changed by the radiation….

Screen Shot 2016-04-19 at 20.56.26

My opinion so far;

My first impressions of the season were that the script could be ultra-cheesy at times, however once you get past the slightly over-dramatic scriptwriting, the plot does thicken as the series continues. I’m also a fan of the use of cliffhangers in the last 15-30 seconds of the episode to make you continue watching, I can see why fans could easily get hooked and “binge-watch” this series. I will say this, if you’re not a fantasy-superhero-type viewer I think you will find it hard to engage with this series. However, each new ‘metahuman’ Barry discovers, cleverly unveils a new secret or a new part of the plot; which is what has kept me watching throughout.

This show has definitely kept my interest, despite the fact it’s not what I would usually go to watch. Why not challenge yourself to watch something different this evening?

Ramble over.

Leave a Reply

