Harry Potter

on

I am probably one of the only people of my generation that has not watched a single film or read a single novel from this globally recognised franchise. However recently I’ve had more time on my hands to marathon the films at least (I know I know I’m sorry! *cringes*)

Now that I have gotten round to watching the franchise however, I can safely say that this is the first fantasy franchise I have enjoyed throughly from start to finish. Here are just a few reasons why Harry Potter will live forever in film history…;

Showcasing Great British Acting

The names say it all, there are so many amazing British talents showcased in one or all of the films in the series. From Daniel Radcliffe and Emma Watson to Dame Maggie Smith and the late great Alan Rickman. There are also appearances from Helena Bonham Carter, Warwick Davis, Ralph Fiennes, Gary Oldman, Emma Thompson and Julie Waters. (This is narrowing it down!) Even if you’re not really a fantasy fan you must at least try this series simply for this reason alone.

Plotlines

What I liked about this series compared to others I have been recently exposed to is that each instalment in the series adds that little bit more depth to the wonderful wizarding world of Harry Potter. Whilst the main plotline is always in the back of your mind throughout – making you want to watch till the very end. One of my favourites would have to be *SPOILER ALERT* when Harry is chosen by the Goblet of Fire to compete in the Triwizard Tournament – I don’t know why but I throughly enjoyed this instalment in particular. So if I had to pick a favourite film it would be The Goblet of Fire.

Special Effects

One of the other things I love most about the series is that due to the length of it you can watch SFX technology developing in a crucial age of digital filmmaking.  However even in the early days in Chamber of Secrets, when Mr. Weasley’s flying car is stolen it still makes for great viewing. So you can imagine (or know most likely) how great the *SPOILER ALERT!* final battle between Lord Voldemort and Potter was towards the very end of the series. If you’re into SFX this is definitely a great series to watch.

Overall I don’t really need to persuade you too much to watch one of the most talked-about franchises of all time. However if there are any more of you out there who like me somehow missed out on this epic series just give it a try, I can guarantee it’ll be worth the time.

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 11.30.50

Ramble over.

 

Leave a Reply

