Me & Earl & The Dying Girl

on

Me & Earl & The Dying Girl was released in 2015; however despite the success of a similar genre feature named ‘The Fault In Our Stars’, I feel this film has been very underrated. I finally got round to viewing it the other day with one of my oldest friends, here’s what I thought;

So this film, unlike The Fault In Our Stars follows the male protagonist; awkward, lanky, and all-round self-loathing, Greg Gaines. He’s a senior at Pittsburgh’s Schenley High School, who drifts through life while only broadly associating himself with various cliques within Schenley’s halls. He learns that a fellow student and former childhood friend of his, Rachel, has been diagnosed with leukaemia and is forced by his parents to befriend her in her time of need. Despite neither of them truly wanting the other’s company, Greg strikes up a conversation about her pillow collection. Rachel finds his quirky personality endearing and they make plans to meet on a regular basis.

However, let me stop the plot description there – this film is almost certainly not like The Fault In Our Stars in the sense that, it doesn’t go down the road of a typical teenage romantic comedy. Greg’s character makes damn sure of this throughout as he constantly reminds the viewer through his narration that “this isn’t a touching romantic story”. I just love the brutally honest awkwardness of Greg’s character overall, it resonates so well with so many teenagers out there including myself. And greg’s love for creating spoofs of classic films just sold this feature to me really; the clips you see of their crazy creative work are just brilliant.

I’d love to see this film get the mainstream recognition it deserves, so please check it out if you can. Thanks for reading! 🙂

Ramble over.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Claire says:

    I saw this on a plane pretty much because there was nothing else and I was so surprised! I thought it would be really soppy but it was so good – couldn’t agree with you more! My favourite part was the weird bit with the drugs and the guy in a panda suit :’)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. abibalfex says:

      Yeah this film really surprised me, I loved it & that part is soo funny! :’) x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

