My Favourite Box-Sets

Firstly sorry for the lack of posting recently, I have had a serious case of writers block but anyways here are the box-sets that I always go back to when I can’t find anything but repeats on the telly.

Screen Shot 2016-06-10 at 22.13.41.png

Glee (2009-2015)

Glee is set in McKinley High School and focuses on the musical ‘glee club’ which the ensemble cast attend weekly. It is run by the school’s Spanish teacher Mr Will Schuester, much to the school’s cheerleading coach, Sue Sylvester’s distain. The kids in the show face every single teenage drama you can think of and more, as they try to find their way in the world whilst doing a bit of singing and dancing along the way. What’s not to love?!

This box-set is what I grew up watching during my high school years and I absolutely recommend it to anyone of this age (or older?!). Yes it can be cheesy when the characters randomly burst into song, however in a strange way that’s what makes me love it!

Screen Shot 2016-06-10 at 22.14.01.png

Friends

Okay so I don’t think I really need to provide an explanation about the plot of this series – unless you’ve been living under a rock for the past 20 years! I generally am in awe of the scriptwriters of Friends, every single episode is just so funny and so well-written.

This box-set will never get old for me and this is probably why it’s so damn popular.

Screen Shot 2016-06-10 at 22.14.35.png

Sherlock

Okay, so this box-set is a little different to the others haha. It is, of course, loosely based around the British novels written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and stars Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman; a perfect duo who have such a brilliant chemistry as Sherlock and Dr. Watson.

However it is very different from the majority of adaptations I have previously seen, in the sense that the technical quality of each episode is just amazing. I live for the camerawork in this series!

Each episode is like a mini-feature film at 1 hour 30 mins in length, but the episodes need to be this long in order to fit their complex narratives in. This is the only downside to the box-set, if you prefer something with a narrative that’s slightly easier to follow then I wouldn’t recommend this.

Overall, this box-set gave me hope for British television, please give it a watch.

 

Leave a Reply

