Summer Viewing: Festival Season

I always adore this time of year – whether or not I’m lucky enough to be one of the actual festival attendees, I am always glued to my tv screen watching an amazing array of musical acts. If you hadn’t guessed already – I LOVE music –  everything about it. I couldn’t not share a post with you guys about this amazing creative outlet.

I like to think I’m quite open-minded with music and try to give every genre a chance; when it comes to mainstream artists Taylor Swift‘s lyrics will forever have a special place in my heart – as well as the works of Mcfly, Ed Sheeran & Coldplay. These acts are all incredibly special to me and if they’re ever near my hometown I will endeavour to see them live. However, right now my taste’s are definitely swaying towards Indie Pop/Rock bands more than anything. Some of my favourites currently include Catfish and The Bottlemen, Bastille, The 1975, AM, Paramore and of course Imagine Dragons (these guys I’m a massive fan of in particular).

Anyways back to the main point of this blog – last weekend, the BBC broadcasted almost the entirety of the iconic Glastonbury Festival. This festival just blows my mind every year – the line up, the crowds, the tribute and ‘glasto’ moments are just some of the elements which have made this festival what it is today. A few of my personal highlights (all of which you can check out on the BBC IPlayer – plus more) were Madness, Tom Odell, Adele and Coldplay. However, there really is something for everyone at Glasto and I would urge anyone to go and investigate the line up on the 7/8 stages.

Another festival I can’t get enough of is BBC Radio 1’s Big Weekend – I was lucky enough to be able to attend last year’s festival in Norwich. The great thing about this festival is that it moves location from year to year, therefore people that live in the region of the festival get priority access to tickets when the ballot goes on sale. (did I mention the tickets are basically free aside from postage?!) Foo Fighters and Muse headlined last year thus proving that again, this is one of those festivals which has something for everyone.

These are just two of the many festivals I hope to attend in the near future – I hope I’m not alone in my obsession with all things musical – do you have a favourite festival you’d like to attend or have been lucky enough to attend? Who are your favourite artists to see live? Let me know in the comments 🙂

Ramble over.

 

 

Leave a Reply

