OITNB

Firstly, apologies for not posting in a while – mine and my mother’s birthdays both took place this week and therefore I have been UBER busy preparing for and celebrating both occasions. Now everything has calmed down again, I can settle back into blogging – today I’ve decided to write my new found obsession with the Netflix series that everyone’s talking about – Orange Is The New Black. 

Recently my sister decided to sign up for Netflix and so I found myself browsing through some of the ‘Netflix originals’ shows to see if I could find anything worth my interest. I came across OITNB and decided to give it a go, after hearing many positive reviews from my friends and surprisingly one of my lecturers at uni (?!). 

The show revolves around Piper Chapman, a woman in her 30s living in New York who is sentenced to 15 months in Litchfield Penitentiary; a minimum-security women’s federal prison in upstate New York. She has been convicted of transporting a suitcase full of drug money for her then-girlfriend Alex Vause, an international drug smuggler. This offence occurred 10 years prior to the start of the series and in that time Piper had moved on to a quiet life. Therefore, this sudden and unexpected indictment seriously disrupts her relationship with her fiancé, family and friends.

Once in prison Piper is reunited with Alex; the show often uses flashbacks of significant events from various inmates and prison guards’ pasts. These flashbacks typically explain how the inmate came to be in prison or otherwise further develop the character’s backstory.

What I love most about this show is it has a great balance of hard-hitting emotional subjects and hilarious comedic moments and one-liners. It is a show that certainly doesn’t hold back; nothing is ever censored or wrapped in cotton wool – but I think this is what makes the show as good as it is. I’ve found myself laughing and crying along with the characters, this kind of connection with the audience is not something which many other television shows have managed to create. 

I definitely recommend this to anyone who able to access the show via Netflix, I can now understand why it is one of the most-watched ‘Netflix Originals’ shows out there. 

Thanks for reading as always 🙂

Ramble over.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Jadeyrae says:

    I love this series, but haven’t watched the most reason season! I need to catch up! xxx

    Like

    1. abibalfex says:

      Yeah me too! I have only just finished season 1 but am already loving it so much! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mariza says:

    I really enjoyed your post! Have you ever considered sharing posts on a movie/tv site?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. abibalfex says:

      Thank you so much! & no I’ve not considered it this is just a hobby of mine but always open to new opportunities 🙂

      Like

      1. Mariza says:

        You’re welcome! If you’d be interested, then I’d like to help you get seen on Movie Pilot! For more information, email me at mariza@moviepilot.com and we can chat more there:)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. abibalfex says:

        Yeah that sounds great! Thank you for giving me the opportunity 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

